What does TKD have that Hapkido doesn't?

Discussion in 'Hapkido' started by BSR, Aug 7, 2003.

1. BSR

BSR Valued Member

Having studied both, it seems to me that, in Hapkido, you're getting just about everything that is offered in TKD (lots of kicks, punches, blocks, etc) and a whole lot more.

Now I only reached a yellow belt in TKD before quitting, and I'm currently only an orange belt in Hapkido, so obviously I'm not an expert in either art. But I wonder what would cause one to choose TKD over HKD if they had an equal opportunity to study both?

Let me put it another way, what, in TKD, would cause a Hapkidoist to want to train in it as well?

I certainly don't intend this to be a bashing thread against TKD. I'm simply curious as to what the differences might be. Maybe I'm oversimplifying what TKD has to offer.

2. waya

waya Valued Member

In my personal opinion nothing. But some TKD schools may have something unique to them that is worth studying.

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

For me, my introduction to Hapkido came from my TKD instructor. We gradually moved from using some Hapkido in our class to incorporating a lot, including ranking through ICHF.

As for choosing TKD over Hapkido the most common reasons in my opinion are:
    (1) There are a lot more TKD schools around than Hapkido ones and easier to find a TKD instructor than a Hapkido one.

(2) Quality of instructor - my TKD instructor is kind of martial artist I want to be, regardless of what he teaches... luckily he teaches TKD and Hapkido. I chose this style because of the instructor, not the style.

(3) As for stylistic differences, I really don't think it matters. I like the joint locks and strikes of Hapkido but I like the powerful kicks of TKD. I also like the poomsae of TKD. Hapkido adds nice circular movements and TKD adds good linear ones. In my opinion, I like training in both styles and using both.

4. John_IHF

John_IHF New Member