What do you guys think?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Karate_Man_1288, Dec 17, 2004.

1. Karate_Man_1288

Karate_Man_1288 New Member

Hi my name is James Slavin, and I have been studing TSD for about 3 years now. I am 16 and I am a 2nd degree purple belt, and i am in the advanced class (due to my hard work and dedication). I know all forms up to Ro-hi, and train very hard. The test for either my green or red belt is on Jan 8, and is three hours long, instead of the usual 1 hour test (since i'm in the advanced class.

I am just looking for any helpful advice of how to prepare. I asked my sensei, and he says my forms and sparring are both looking great, but i cant help wondering if i can still improve more before the test. I have a brother and a friend I spar with (Brother = 18 yrs old, friend = 17 yrs old) and they both refuse to let me kick, but i still get hits in. If anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

~Tang Soo~

2. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

you can make a makiwara if you have a garden, just search makiwwara on google and you should get how to build one, it's simple.
    as for forms once you have them clearly in your mind, no-way-i-can-forget-like, just practice the movements when you are walking about your house, like when you are bored, since with nothing occupying your mind you can concentrate noly on the movements, perfecting them more and more, also practice your breathing.

hope that helps

Fish Of Doom

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Find better sparring partners. If they won't let you kick, and you're testing in a Korean style like TSD, it's safe to say that sparring isn't as helpful as it could be. See if you can make arrangements to do some extra sparring after or before class at your dojang.

Stuart

4. Karate_Man_1288