Weight training for IMA

Discussion in 'Internal Martial Arts' started by Dan Bian, Nov 27, 2013.

1. Dan Bian

Dan Bian Neither Dan, nor Brian

I came across this article on a facebook group.

I'll be honest, I'm not an expert on weight lifting, but what the article was saying seems to make sense - what do others think?

http://xinjiayilu.azurewebsites.net...o+also+want+to+practice+internal+martial+arts

I will say that I believe weight training should be a part of any serious internal martial arts training system.
    It's daft to wrap a blunt needle in cotton, and expect it to pierce the opponent.
    The needle needs to be sharpened.

2. Johnno

Johnno Valued Member

I don't know about the other IMA's, but for Taiji there is no need to do weight training. If you try to use strength against someone with greater skill then they will simply beat you more easily. Surely the essential point is to relax and to have correct structure and movement? As soon as you try to use force then you are at a disadvantage - unless you are against someone who also lacks relaxation and structure, in which case simple strength may well prevail.

There's nothing wrong with weight training in itself, but I can't see that it gives any benefit whatsoever for Taiji. I think it is actually counter-productive, if we rely on greater strength to give us an advantage.

I am probably twice as 'beefy' as my instructor, but it doesn't give me the slightest advantage over him where Taiji is concerned. His level of experience and skill is far greater than mine.

3. Dan Bian

I think weight training has a place in Taiji; however it should be approached from a 'sung' point of view.
    Instead of just powering through, utilising the internal softening method as you lift, to feel and release excess tension during slow reps.
    Basically, stay as relaxed as possible during, and always balance out this 'Yang' training with complimentary 'Yin' training.