Weapons defense?

Discussion in 'Karate' started by Kframe, Jun 28, 2014.

1. Kframe

Kframe Valued Member

Hey guys. Im new to karate and had a interesting question.

Im really enjoying the hard work and style(matsubayashi shorin ryu).. I never honestly thought id ever enjoy it but here I am.

How does karate(shorin ryu) approach weapons defense/offense? Say a knife attack? I have been watching some karate videos and karate seams to have a start and stop feeling to it, which I don't know If its just my newb level of doing things but isn't that bad for defense against weapons?

So what are some good examples of how karate deals with knife attacks or bludgeoning attacks? Does karate teach how to use the knife? I can see some of the movements also translating to weapons work.

I know there is kobudo, but I didn't know how karate handled such things. Thanks for the information guys!

2. holyheadjch

holyheadjch Valued Member

There's lots of crazy bunkai in Karate that shady senseis will try to pass off as weapon defence.

Unless you're training how to turn on your heel 180 degrees and burst into a sprint, they're not teaching you high percentage knife defence.

3. bassai

bassai onwards and upwards ! Moderator Supporter

In Shotokan , at least , it's pretty much the same as empty hand , step off line counter , get out of dodge.

4. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Most karate knife defense is absolutely horrible - but they are certainly not alone in that

5. Kframe

Kframe Valued Member

Thanks for the advice guys. Hmm maybe ill just have to get a shock knife and figure it out.. More fun that way anyways.

6. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

The key is for your attacker to keep their arm completely straight.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1JOhuuaYpg"]Jim Carrey's Karate School of Self Defence! - YouTube[/ame]

7. Kframe

Kframe Valued Member