Weapon Defence

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by smithter, Dec 5, 2012.

1. smithter

smithter New Member

Hi everyone,
    Is there a specific martial art that trains weapon disarm/defence, if so which one is best? Thanks

2. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter

Lots of styles hit on it. There are two questions really. 1) Does this style address weapon defenses and disarms? And 2) are they actually good? We've all seen some pretty dire weapon defenses.

My background is Filipino martial arts. We certainly spend a lot of time addressing weapon disarms and defenses. Though, again, the quality of them is going to depend greatly on who's doing the teaching. The more fanciful the defense or disarm, the less likely it is to work.

As an example, the most trustworthy disarms I've seen are what I jokingly refer to as "percussion disarms." You hit the guy in the hand really hard with your own weapon. Then he drops his. Self-evident and realistic.

3. Kuniku

Kuniku The Hairy Jujutsuka

what kind of weapons are you talking about?

4. peterc8455

peterc8455 Valued Member

A better question is what types of weapons is the original poster talking about?

EDIT: Please ignore this I thought you were asking to ap_Oweyn

Last edited: Dec 5, 2012
  5. Kuniku

hehe no ap_Oweyn got his reply in first. I was thinking if the OP was talking about "on the street" weapons than something like modern jujitsu (such as my style) covers it quite well, or any other art dedicated to self defence.

6. Kuniku

The problem with "Percussive Disarms" is that you don't know where the weapon will end up after wards, if its one on one and its nowhere near the attacker, thats fine, but if you're in a group and you send the attackers knife flying - the knife could hit anyone, if a group are attacking you, you could just end up passing the weapon on to one of his mats who will hit you with it.

Most weapon defenses I've worked on tend to concentrate on controling the weapon and removing it safely.