Wah, burnt out.

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Bon, Aug 12, 2003.

1. Bon

Bon Banned Banned

Right now I have no motivation to train other than getting to the next belt level (read next level, not next belt.. I could probably get the belt in 6 months if I really wanted to instead of 1-1.5 years) to make my time, dedication and hard work feel like it was a worthwhile achievement.

I'm so bored with training after spending the last ~10 months training 5x a week, I have no motivation to train... I've spent the last 10 days without training, which would have usually been only 1 out of the 10 days not training. I reached the goal I set for myself when I started training. Setting a new goal doesn't seem that appealing. Focusing more on some boxing/kickboxing does look more appealing however since my stand up sucks big time compared to my grappling.

Anyone else experienced this and what'd you do to get back into training? I don't really want to stop training in BJJ less than what I am, so that way the guys that I'm in front of can't catch up on me and I can catch up on the guys who are in front of me... that's really the only thing stopping me from focusing on boxing/kickboxing.

Help anyone?

Last edited: Aug 12, 2003
  2. Greg-VT

Greg-VT Peasant

I suggesting writing a new goal, whether you want to or not. Then go the next class, whether you want to not. The best way to get motivated is to do something about it. So go and do it.

3. pgm316

pgm316 lifting metal

This happens to most people Bon, its easy to train 5 days a week when you first start something. Its all new and interesting and your motivation is high!

You've got to train at a sustainable level, cut the BJJ training back to a couple of times a week or maybe just once, then you can fit some kickboxing training in as well.

I think this is better than quitting BJJ and training kickboxing 5 times a week because you'll end up not getting very good at either.....

4. Sonshu