Video Training Doesn't Work

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by DAnjo, Apr 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DAnjo

DAnjo Valued Member

This topic was originally from another forum. I decided to bring it over here for you guys to weigh in on as well. Here's the first couple of posts from me and our dear friend ajka:

Danjo Wrote:
    Distance learning doesn't work unless you've already trained in the material live. At least this is true of the techniques. Kata, you can probably learn via video. Let me tell you about my experience with this:

Last night I started training at Prof. John Bishop's Kajukenbo Academy. It was GREAT to be back to live training and it was a wonderful class. The students are well trained and friendly and Prof. Bishop is a lot of fun to train with as your instructor. I'm pretty sore today, but in a good way!

Now, I have had the Kajukenbo tapes for some time and had memorized many of the techniques in anticipation of training in Kajukenbo. I practiced them in the air over and over again until they were fairly well polished. Well, once I got to start trying them with the students, I found out that my sense of timing and distance was all off. Plus, there were several subtleties in the techniques that I had missed when watching the tapes. Not being a novice in the martial arts, I was fair at some of them, but I looked like a white belt at many of them. I am therefore absolutely convinced that there is no way anyone can get to black belt legitimately through a video course. There's just too much that you can't learn without live training and an instructor that can tell you what you're doing wrong. The tapes are a great supplement, but they in no way are a substitute for actual instruction. People are just fooling themselves if they think otherwise.

Ajka's reply:

Originally Posted by Danjo:
    1) Distance learning doesn't work unless you've already trained in the material live.