Use of Martial Arts to protect righteousness

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Sarute Uchizaki, Jun 6, 2014.

1. Sarute Uchizaki

Sarute Uchizaki Valued Member

Hi all!

I'm a martial arts student for about 10 years. Since I've been in the field for a long time, I searched about its history and application in everyday life. However, the use of MAs in streets to fight crime, to protect righteousness has been proven somewhat controversial.

I just want to know why is it as such?

Just consider fictional characters like Batman, Green Arrow and Wild Cat! Some people may dislike them while others may like them for their acts. Even in reality where there had been wannabe or real superheroes who used MAs but they were somewhat criticised.

I JUST WANT TO HAVE THE OPINIONS OF MARTIAL ARTS EXPERTS ONLY! PLEASE

2. philosoraptor

philosoraptor carnivore in a top hat Supporter

HAIL HYDRA!

3. gapjumper

gapjumper Intentionally left blank

If the question is why is it frowned upon to go around using your l337 sk1llz to issue Judge Dredd style justice...then I wonder what your training has actually consisted of and how old you are?

If your question is why it is ok for batman etc to do it and people applaud them for it...you do know they are fictional, right?

4. m1k3jobs

m1k3jobs Dudeist Priest

Is being a vigilante considered righteous?

5. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Bloody hell......

6. LemonSloth

LemonSloth Laugh and grow fat!

This.

7. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

We already have something to defend righteousness.

It's called the justice system.

8. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

I started down that path many years ago. Determined to use my martial prowess for the protection of society I donned a costume to protect my identity and took my TKD skills to the streets, along with my sense of justice and righteous indignation at evil doers.