United Shaolin Kempo Karate--any good?

Discussion in 'Kenpo' started by Morik, May 21, 2011.

1. Morik

Morik Well-Known Member Supporter MAP 2017 Gold Award

Hi guys,

I'm new to MA, and am looking at schools nearby.

The closest one is the United Shaolin Kempo Karate in Waltham. Reading around, I keep seeing people saying things indicating that Villari's and all descendents of that style are generally held in low regard... I've done a lot of searching, and can't find explanations of why. Just that people think they are held in low regard.

Is this mostly just the USSD, which I have found lots of info on why they are not well regarded.

Or is it really Villari & all descendents?

I do plan to take the free week of lessons to check it out. They also teach Jiu Jistu, with 2 classes a week, in addition to the 3 classes a week in SKK, but my work schedule is such that I wouldn't always be able to make it to the Jiu Jitsu classes.

There are two other schools nearby, but I haven't had a chance to check them out yet. One teaches Tae Kwon Do, the other Chun Kuk Do.

2. 6footgeek

6footgeek Meow

Chun kuk do?????

at first i though, OMG wing chun kuk soola nd taekwondo together!!
    but a quick google search reveals its an art founded by chuck Norris!!!

why are we messing around with muay thai and bjj and not doing this already =P

seriously though. i don't know much about the USKK, the more experienced ppl here will help you out on that. as for the other arts in the area, try them out, its the only way to be certain if they suit you or not.

3. Quincyma80

Quincyma80 Valued Member

Some thoughts

USSD (a.k.a. United Studios of Self-Defense - GM Charles Mattera et. al) is almost exclusively has a Western United States footprint.

This United Shaolin Kempo Karate in Waltham seems to have Villari style bloodlines - based if nothing else on they are sponsoring a seminar by "Grandmaster Carozzi" a former Villari student.