Turkish forces in Iraq? Good or Bad?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Orangeseger, Oct 18, 2007.

1. Orangeseger

Orangeseger YouTube =/= Training

What's your take on this? I don't know what to think, really. I don't like the idea of more conflict starting in that area of the world, and I think it would hurt the U.S military's limited control over the area. I kind of see this erupting into a lot of bloodshed, and then the U.S. is going to have to send some of it's troops up there to clean up the mess.

Viewpoints? (I'm not be any means posing as an expert on stuff like this, it just concerns me, that's all.)

2. angacam

angacam Mare Est Vita Mea

From all I have heard this could very well be very bad. In Iraq that northern section is currently the most peacefull this will most certainly change all that. Course, I am no expert on it either and frankly have been avoiding even watching it any more as the whole thing seems a dismal mess.

3. slipthejab

slipthejab Hark, a vagrant! Supporter

The Turks have been itching to get in there and sock it to the Kurds. Turkey doesn't exactly have a stellar record when it comes to human rights and this would fit right in with their agenda to get rid of the Kurds.

Of course much of this is made possible by Bush and his cronies. That the Bush/Rummy/Cheney trio cooked up the cozy little war on terror as an excuse to run roughshod over anyone and everyone... many other governments have followed suit. China uses exactly this excuse to oppress their uppity minorities. Every time anyone needs an excuse to step in get heavy handed with anyone... they immediately label them as terrorists.

My my my how convenient, predictable and American.

4. El Tejon

El Tejon MAP'scrazyuncle

How thick can you get? If the Turks wanted to "sock it to the Kurds" why not participate in the War of Continuation in 2003? Turkey would have troops on the ground and could use the occupation to hunt down and shoot the Communists/PKK?