Tukido?

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by Smee, Jan 18, 2004.

1. Smee

Smee Evil kung fu genius

Many many moons ago I used to study Tukido in Scotland. This was based on ITF Taekwondo and created by Master Hock Aun Teh who was 6th dan at that time (if i recall correctly).

My teacher was Heoi Wing Lee (Michael Lee) who subsequently moved to Australia to open a branch there.

Just curious as to what happened to Tukido as a style (I know it still exists - although less widespread) and anybody in Oz who might have come across Mr.Lee. He was an excellent teacher and I credit him with my long lasting interest in MA even though I am now studying Hung Gar.

Thanks for any help.

Paul

2. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Hi Paul,

all I can offer is some name dropping.

Master Teh had a few interesting people as students. I believe one, if not both Krause brothers trained under him, as well as John and Joe Abercrombie. Ronnie Brown I met a few times, who was well ranked as a kickboxer in Glasgow in the 80's.

The Krause guys went on and kicked off the Krause Academy, and John and Joe started something called Agonistics (essentially JKD) which I trained in for around 8 years.

3. marco

marco Valued Member

Man, you two guys take me back a fair bit. The guy who started Tukido was the original instructor for myself at the TKD academy in Glasgow but he left after a bust up with Master Rhee a few months later. We gotta be talking 1978 or something here so yes it does take from ITF style.

The Krause guys had all the business know how and took off to America then tied up with Dan Inosanto and brought back JKD concepts from the states.

God knows how its all ended up though. Nice to hear from you boys.....I'm a weegie who's serving with HM Forces down south.

4. Tosh

Tosh Renegade of Funk