Training on my own

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by Warcow, May 21, 2009.

1. Warcow

Warcow Valued Member

Hey guys, been a while since I visited MAP

As you might known, I'm pretty new to kickboxing and haven't got much training under my belt yet. Until I return to Hamilton in two months time, I don't have any resources or set time for training in a class setting due to travelling and a few other complications.

However, I do have access to a pretty decent dojang with padded floor and a couple of heavy bags and a speed bag at the local YMCA which I work/volunteer at. I've been trying to train whenever I can, but I don't just want to hit the bags all the time. Yet, without a good instructor to guide me, I'm not certain my techniques will stay correct.

Anyone with experience / tips for training on your own?

Last edited: May 21, 2009
  2. liero

liero Valued Member

Practise your form in front of a mirror by shadow boxing/kicking, this will allow you to watch your own technique and pick up any issues.

Alternativley you could ask a friend who does Martial arts to train with you and pick anything up.

If neither of those are an option you could film your form on a bag or something and post it here so others could help you.

If none of that appeals to you use the time before you go back to instructor training to work on your fitness and conditioning.

one more thing. If the YMCA has a gym and all the equipment, surely they have a proper coach whom can guide you?

3. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

Working on your flexibility before you return to Hamilton will improve your rate of progression when you finally get back to the kickboxing gym, as will training cardio & strength. Other than that I'd leave out technique training, as at this stage bad habits form easily.

4. Warcow

Warcow Valued Member

Thanks guys,

@ liero