Training in the Philippines?

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by adamsr1718, Sep 10, 2014.

1. adamsr1718

adamsr1718 New Member

Hi, im completely new to FMA and have no training at all but i would like to start and i figured best place to learn would be in its birthplace.

So here is my question, is there a place in the Philippines i could go to train Eskrima for a lengthy period such as a year or two without spending a life savings?

2. kuntaoer

kuntaoer Valued Member

That is pretty much like asking how many stars in the universe.. You need to do some research to see what system or group offers what you are looking for in a FMA system.. After 40 yrs as an instructor of the FMA, I still go back at least once a year to get updated training with the groups that I am affiliated with..

Do some home work and try to figure out what exactly what you are looking for as far as training..

3. adamsr1718

adamsr1718 New Member

From what reading i've done and video's i've watched i'm interested in Doce Pares

4. kuntaoer

kuntaoer Valued Member

Then I would suggest that you get a hold of Pat O'Malley as he has contacts in the doce pares community in cebu.. He was the european president of the Doce Pares association a few years ago.. You can find him by looking for rapid arnis in the UK.. He is not hard to find..

Who are you training with now in Doce Pares? My contacts in the Philippines do not involve the DP guys, but I'm sure that Pat can help you if you contact him..

5. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

Do you have an martial arts training? I'm a bit confused by your opening sentence (It's only 10 am).

Why don't you have a dabble in Doce Pares (and other FMA systems) before you decide to go out to the PI and train there?

You never know, you might not like it. Or you might find that Doce Pares isn't your thing but Balintawak or whatever is.

You could save yourself a whole lot of time and trouble.

6. adamsr1718