Thoughts on specialty/small-surface strikes?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by callsignfuzzy, Apr 11, 2014.

1. callsignfuzzy

callsignfuzzy Is not a number!

This blog was linked to a FB group I'm part of:

http://ryukyuma.blogspot.com/2013/04/small-surface-strikes-structurally.html

I've generally been dismissive of such things. Sure, you can pop a guy with a one-knuckle strike and get him to say "ow", but it would seem to me that such techniques are reliant on causing pain, which might be dulled or absent under stress or the influence of intoxicants. With that said, I've seen some neat trick with guys breaking boards with these strikes, so either a) they've gimmicked the target or b) one can actually generate damaging power with the strikes.

Considering their prevalence in East Asian martial arts, I have to think that those who developed those systems saw their utility. I've got very little experience with them myself, outside of trying them out on a bag and going, "Nope, not gonna do that again." Does anyone train them regularly? Anyone find them useful? Can they be used in a way that can cause mechanical damage as opposed to simply pain? Any other thoughts?

2. Ero-Sennin

Ero-Sennin Well-Known Member Supporter

#NopeTrain

That looks like an amazing way to break your damned finger! I'm sure you could use it to some effect by conditioning, but to what end? The most "pointy" type strike I've been taught is the vertical fist in Isshinryu, but that's with the knuckles on the hand and not the fingers. I tried a few of the hand positions out and punched my other hand and it hurt like hell, never mind trying to do damage on a real target.