Thinking about changing from Aikido to Ju Jitsu

Discussion in 'Ju Jitsu' started by dsm, Feb 15, 2013.

1. dsm

dsm New Member

I've been practising Aikido for about 6 months now and while I've enjoyed the training, I find myself getting a bit frustrated at the lack of striking and sparring involved. I just noticed that there is a Ju Jitsu place nearby so I'm planning on checking it out, but I'm wondering if I can use some of what I've learned in my Aikido training as I hear they are quite similar styles?

2. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Should do, although as far as I'm aware Jujutsu is a much harder style than Aikido.

Out of interest, what style is the Aikido, and what style is the Jujutsu?

3. Dave76

Dave76 Valued Member

Aikido is a style of Ju Jistu. Some of it will probably transfer, some of it won't. Depends on the styles. But if you are not happy then go check it out. Hope you find what you are looking for.

4. Dan93

Dan93 Valued Member

Aikido is a complex system and it takes time to understand the principles and concepts, Is this your first martial art? I would IMO generally recommend Aikido as a second MA after gaining a foundation in another system.

You have only been training for six months which is only a drop in the ocean and not anough time to fully learn the fundamentals, It depends on what you want to get out of it.

The Ju-jutsu depending on what system would most likely be easier to learn and get efficent in. Try it out and see if it suits and get a base then you can try out the Aikido at a later stage in your development.

Osu!

Dan93

5. hext

hext Valued Member

Check it out, see how it 'fits'

It'll be worth checking out a couple of jujitsu schools, do you have any info on them?

6. Bomber

Bomber Valued Member