Tescao anyone?

Discussion in 'Other Styles' started by totto, Feb 10, 2008.

1. totto

totto New Member

I am looking to join a new school and get back into the swing of martial arts. I have some experience in tae kwan do, capoiera and a little bit of kung fu. Anyone know much about this art? I tried using the search function but it does not seem to work for me, otherwise sorry if there is a thread already posted about this style. Anyone currently learning this art? I know it's pretty rare but it sounds cool and not as traditional as others. Let me know what you all think!

2. Hapuka

Hapuka Te Aho

I thought at first you were talking about the supermarket! :)

Until I found this. Looks like a pretty good martial art for self defense. You should go check it out.

3. DAT

DAT Valued Member

4. IMAS

IMAS Banned Banned

In UK it is tetsudo the way of Tetsura.

www.tetsudo.co.uk

In China, Tebetian martial arts are Lion's Roar, Lama Pai, Tibetan White Crane, and Hop Gar. They are also in the UK

5. El Medico

El Medico Valued Member

If it seems like a good system,fine.As to the historic authenticity I'm rather skeptical about supposed Tibetan systems. The fact that a non-Tibetan,"Yuri N. Monkhoev is the only living legacy of the Tescao system in the world. " doesn't inspire confidence in the historical claims.

It's quite speculative whether there was any actual descent from Tibetan sources in these systems. At any rate,they're not considered anything other than Chinese systems nowadays. They're certainly never referred to as Tibetan MAs in the CMA community.Unless maybe some individual is trying to tap into the current popularity of all thing$ Tibetan.

For some reason the Atlanta link didn't work.