teaching the physically disabled

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by The MMA kid!, May 10, 2006.

1. The MMA kid!

The MMA kid! New Member

Hi all, I am a martial arts instructor who has never worked with physically challenged children.

there is the one 12 year old boy who is extremely interested in the martial arts. but for obvious reasons, he feels that he would not be comfortable inside a normal class.

I don't know what his condition is called, but i do know that it has something to do with his spine....
    bear with me as I describe his condition, please excuse me if I offend anyone...

he wears crutches on each arm, they are wrapped around his hands, and he cannot move around without them. his feet are stuffed inside his shoes, but i do not think that he has any bones in his feet. his grandmother has told me that they are curled (?)
    his right hand is a bit weaker than his left, and as he gets older, he will lose motor skills in each hand/arm.

he is a sharp kid, is into hip-hop fashion and such, real outgoing.

does anyone have any suggestions as how I can show the kid how to defend himself? he cant throw kicks, and I imagine someone easily throwing him to the ground. so i was thinking perhaps some kind of defense you can do while sitting/laying down, while not having any control of your legs. keep in mind that he has crutches, and is not physically strong.

thanks,
    TMMAk!

2. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

Something For Everyone