Teaching Level Certificates ???

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by stoppy, May 22, 2009.

1. stoppy

stoppy TKD Disciple

Here is a little topic that im sure will start a riot on the boards.

I was speaking with one of my collegues the other week (im a lecturer here in the UK) about the martial arts that I do, she was curious as to why I scored so well on lesson observations, a manditory requirement for FE and HE colleges here in the UK. They are designed to keep the standards up in the class room.

It got me to thinking as we do at the lesson later that week.

Background here might help as to where Im going with this.

Our club is quite mature now as I have mentioned in other posts, and we have been blessed with a great retention rate for Black Belts of all grades.

We have a fairly large permanent Dojang and classes are run all week. This has given the higher ranks there own day to be teacher and other days to be student and works really well. Others have set up satellites in the surrounding area serviced by My instructor (7th dan) and the committee of other master (of which im one) for gradings ect ... at the main club.

At the main club it is the masters who run the classes which is great for the students and the blackbelts and gives them an achievement aim above the usual Ive got my black belt and im quitting scenario.

So back to the main point, (get on with it)

How to we check on the suitability and standards of the teachers in TKD ???

After speaking with many of my Master freinds, we remebered back inthe day of the British Taekwondo Association (Master Tony Quigley) after black belt we were expected to do seminars and so on to be able to grade to the next dan, but more importantly we had to take teaching certificates

Starting at level 3 going up to level 1, I think Chungdo kwan did something similar, a bit of research on the web has led me to the kukkiwon who run 3rd class - 1st class teacher courses.