Taser

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by Princess Haru, Dec 4, 2012.

1. Princess Haru

Princess Haru Valued Member

Is there any defence against a taser, like say a particular type of material that would prevent it piercing the skin? Seems every Police force in the UK have them now and are only too happy to use them at the slightest hint of aggrevation. I find this more than a bit frightening.... which is not to say if I lived in one of the gun states that I would wear body armor everywhere unless they are making some items a bit less bulky than on the average crime drama like The Killing (Forbrydelsen)

2. Hannibal

Hannibal Cry HAVOC and let slip the Dogs of War!!! Supporter

Although I am a Taser instructor I have yet to deploy it "live", but have seen it used and have been tazed myself.

In short yes - thick clothing

In reality the taser is a bit hit and miss anyway. I advocate "contact deployment" rather than the "party popper" standard approach because it is more acurate, successful and mitigates clothing obtacles better.

However, the phrase "slightest hint of aggravation" is sloppy - do you mean physical aggravation or threat of same or do you mean soneone being a bit of a douche. If the latter then it should not be deployed - if the former then it is a valid option depending on the other factors.

The easy way not to get tasered is to do as you are told when it is pointing at you.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2012
  3. m1k3jobs

m1k3jobs Dudeist Priest

Hannibal, are Tasers effective against Zombies? Just curious.

4. Hannibal

TASER’s are effective at disrupting zombies’ neuromuscular systems, effectively firing the muscles as they would in a non-walker. Although they do not respond to the pain, the physical lockup is identical. As with all tazer deployment a secondary weapon system on hand is strongly advised. Drive stuns should be avoided due to proximity risk

The recommended 5 second cycle does not apply against the undead.