Systema?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by bujingodai, Feb 2, 2014.

1. bujingodai

bujingodai Retired Supporter

I have been training and teaching in another style for 20 years.
    Have been thinking of departing the scene for some time, if not longer. Looking into other arts.
    Systema, opinons?
    I live in the GTA area of Ontario. Wonder if there are any decent reputable schools. I live in Oshawa more specifically

what kind of rates would one expect to pay?

2. mattt

mattt Valued Member

Why are you looking for a style, or caring about a price?

I ask because if you have 20 years of training you should have a certain amount of foundation, and as such neither variable is relevant. All that matters is who you can train with.

3. bujingodai

Well I was asking a question, not to be asked why I am asking a question frankly.

It was conversation. So, after 20 years I should have such a foundation that I have no need to ask such questions?
    As for money, well I realize it matters little in effect. But yet again such a question

4. mattt

mattt Valued Member

My suggestion is that you look at it differently, take it or leave it.

5. bujingodai

Which is what I was at.
    I was asking as to a reputable place to check it out. specifically in my area.

6. Pretty In Pink

Pretty In Pink Moved on MAP 2017 Gold Award

Systema = lack of consistency in quality.

Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  7. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

I assume you'll have some weapons knowledge, so how about something like Eskrima.

A total departure from what you do now, but still a system that has weapons, empty hands, kicks, locks, chokes and so on.

8. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

Give it a wide berth, IMO.

Eskrima is a good suggestion, it'll get your feet moving slightly differently to the Japanese based arts you are used to and the weapons work is a blast.