Survivors of Domestic Violence

Discussion in 'Women's Self Defence' started by KungFuGrrrl, Oct 30, 2003.

1. KungFuGrrrl

KungFuGrrrl Valued Member

many of you know I work with women and children survivors.
    I run a non profit organization called
    Friends Of Courage United Survivors.

We are a project of community partners (you can check out the website communitypartners.org) In fact if any of you would like to start a non profit organization this is an excellent way to get in the door.

I am making this post as I am trying to locate people in the martial arts world (my world) that are interested in working with my project by way of advising (advisory board perhaps), helpiing with ideas for fundraisers...hleping organize volunteers... any area of advice that we could communicate on really.

I have been operating for two years now, and I am a martial artist, not a fundraiser, grant writer etc...... nor can I pay anyone in those positions (yet) so...... I must rely on good ole volunteers.

So here is my story:

Tammy Logan
    Friends of Courage United Survivors

I turned my domestic violence tragedy into a blessing

I nearly died at the hands of my abusive boyfriend. That experience changed my life, my way of thinking, Showed me what is really important in this lifetime and I now work with survivors of domestic violence.

The Meeting
    In the fall of 1995 I was working at a Medical Systems Company, owned a car, lived in a nice area of Burbank, California and things were looking up. I met a man with whom I shared several interests. I believed I had found an interesting, considerate, fun mate. We dated for a while then after a few months we moved in together.

The Abuse