Suparenpei kata

Discussion in 'Karate' started by ArthurKing, Apr 5, 2013.

1. ArthurKing

ArthurKing Valued Member

One for all you Gojuka, I recently started learning Suparenpei at a weekend course but didn't get far and i am forgetting it already. The thing is, i'd like to learn it, it did used to be part of Ohtsuka's Wado but was dropped. Can anyone point me in the direction of a good book on this kata and maybe some good YouTube videos? I have some background in Goju from a few years ago, so have a grasp of basic principles but as much detail as possible (breathing etc.) would be useful. I know this is not the best way to do it but I can't see any chance of me getting any actual dojo instruction anytime soon.
    Cheers.

2. GaryWado

GaryWado Tired

Did you learn it at a Wado course?

Most suggest that although Otsuka dabbled with Suparenpei in the early days, it was never taken seriously as part of the system and dropped fairly early on.

Some of the old guard in Japan are said to be aware of it and I have some footage of Arakawa Takamasa performing it (about 10+ years ago), but I would suggest that it is a wadofied version of the ****o-ryu kata and not the goju version.

I can't share the Arakawa vid with you (as it is not my property), but it looked very similar to this guys...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QxA-n0WUvvA"]Suparimpei Wado Franck - YouTube[/ame]

There is a rare publication (only in Japanese) by Hakoishi sensei and he apparently features Suparenpei in that, but I haven't seen it so can't comment about its content.

Gary

3. puma

puma Valued Member

I've never seen how this kata would have fitted in with Wado. I do know though that Yamaguchi and Ohtsuka were good friends and shared the same training space after the bombings. So maybe it was no more than that, Ohtsuka looking at some of the Goju teachings, rather than actually adding it to his style?

4. GaryWado

GaryWado Tired

It doesn't and that's the crux of it.