Strength Training

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by kravi2, Jan 3, 2012.

1. kravi2

kravi2 Valued Member

So I shamelessly pirated my base plan off Starting Strength and then modified it a bit. Critiques welcome and hoped for. Is a two day routine which repeats, as I'm still a novice. As I'm training for strength (minus the two vanity exercises) I take a full 4 minute break between sets. Squats are by themselves, but I may do Presses and Curls, for example, at the same time.

Day 1:
    Squats 3 x 5
    Press 3 x 5
    Deadlift 3 x 5
    Pullups 3 x 5 (assisted for the most part)
    EZBar Curls (purely for vanity) 3 x 5

Day 2:
    Squats 3 x 5
    Bench Press 3 x 5
    Barbell Row 3 x 5
    Chinups 3 x 5 (like pullups, assisted beyond the first couple)
    Upright Rows (purely for vanity) 3 x 8

--Me

2. 47MartialMan

47MartialMan Valued Member

Some will say, less sets, less reps, more weight gradually, for strength

3. tonyv107

tonyv107 Valued Member

SS was set up that way for a reason. If your aren't going to stick to that program why would it be any different if somebody tells you to change your current routine?

4. YouKnowWho

YouKnowWho Valued Member

You should be the master of your weight. Just don't let the weight to become your master. If you "enjoy" your weight training, you may keep doing it for the rest of your life. The weight training suppose to be fun.

5. kravi2

kravi2 Valued Member

I'm assuming this comment was to 47MartialMan, and not me? I'm sticking to their program with a couple of additions, and sticking to the recommended 3 x 5 as well...

--Me

6. Frodocious

Frodocious She who MUST be obeyed! Moderator Supporter

Seems reasonable use of the SS plan. Are you using the prescribed warm up sets as well as the main working sets?

I'm not a fan of upright rows, they can be damaging for your shoulders in the long term.

7. kravi2

kravi2 Valued Member