starting up martial arts with JKD

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by beat101, Feb 15, 2016.

1. beat101

beat101 New Member

Hi all this is my first time on here so id like to say its very nice to meet everybody :)

ive just started up martial arts again after some 20 years since my Taekwondo days and ive started with Steve Powells JKD in Manchester and im on my 3rd week and I love it !!!
    straight away we were told we part of a family and made to feel very warm and welcome. we was given an attendance card and soon will be applying for our licence.
    There were pictures of guest instructors that have taught at steves gym such as Rick Faye, Larry Hartsell and my favourite martial artist Rick Young :)
    So im in good hands :)

I've also just found an Atemi Jiu Jitsu Association club nearer to home to complement the JKD. The Jiu Jitsu has a great syllabus combined with self defence and more importantly live resistance, sparring & groundwork.
    The instructor has been incontact with myself the last few days and were both really excited about this journey of outward and inward development!

I have tried Krav Maga before the JKD and im not impressed with it 1 bit. it just seems to be bells and whistles and very little substance.
    I was shown 1 move and was told from here take him down with an arm lock. I have never done an arm lock in my life, i didnt know what to do where to hold or anything, in fact if anything it taught me that if i would have tried that in a real situation i would have got filled in.

But im happy with steve at the JKD and his syllabus is massive and im looking forward to the Kali Silat & Dumog (grappling) part of the curriculum!

p.s please mind my grammar my tumor has effected my reading and writing ... but its a non cancerous tumor so all is ok that respect, peace out everybody :) :) :)

2. aaradia

aaradia Choy Li Fut and Yang Tai Chi Chuan Student Moderator Supporter

Welcome to MAP!

3. Pretty In Pink