stances in self-defence

Discussion in 'Self Defence' started by gazzthewannabe, Feb 6, 2005.

1. gazzthewannabe

gazzthewannabe New Member

just a thought, ive not seen a thread about stances in combat...ive heard people on they're storeys of how they kicked someoens butt and other interesting stuff...but i never hear what stance they're using(if any)
    so heres a few questions
    would you use a stance in real life combat?, and what stance would you use?

id proberly use either an L stance (i know basic term but im a noob at MA :D ) or the wing chung stance(the first one taught)

2. Coges

Coges Valued Member

I am fairly new to this too but I would assume a neutral stance, ie. feet shoulder width apart, one in front of the other, knees bent slightly to give balance. Never really been in a real fight so just going off what I have seen and been told.

3. Nrv4evr

Nrv4evr New Member

I personally use a modified Muay Thai stance. I hold out my left hand like the traditional Thais (open hand, palm forward), and my right (back) hand is held so that my elbow is close to my ribs, and the fist is close to my jaw. The left hand can block most telegraphed punches, and I usually react fast enough to block incoming jabs. My right hand is poised to strike, but it also protects my ribs and face. My feet are in the normal boxing stance; both feet angled and bent, standing on the balls of my feet.

Most of the time though, I have no time to drop into a stance. I hit the other guy as hard as I can, and then get away before he gets a knife or calls his friends. :D

4. MatsuRyu

MatsuRyu New Member