Sport or MA?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by blackbelt_judoj, Apr 20, 2004.

1. blackbelt_judoj

blackbelt_judoj New Member

I know that some of you out there will say that this should be in a different area but i just wanted to know the general opinion of everyone.

I've been doing judo for a few years now and i love every second of it. I've also heard that it is the most popular martial art practised in England (True or not?), but i get the impression that there is a lot of negativity out there towards it. So here are a couple of questions:

Do you consider JUDO to be a MA or a sport?

How do you rate JUDO in terms of : -

1. Self defense

and

2. Fitness

When you reply (if you do), state some reasons and also state if you practice judo or not.

Cheers :rolleyes:

2. Knight_Errant

Knight_Errant Banned Banned

Yes, I do Judo. I'm going tomorrow night.
    1.Self defence- gives you valuable grappling experience. You learn to fight on the ground, which is useful. Not to be sneezed at. It also mixes pretty well with the ol' karate.
    2.Fitness- it's fighting. You have to be pretty fit to do it.
    I don't see any real point going into the 'sport or MA' debate as I see Martial arts as 'merely' sports that are useful for fighting. Which is all they are. It's a kick-ass sport with proper rules, competitions and decent referees, unlike... {{shut yo sass mouth!}}

3. blackbelt_judoj

I only ask because officially (for insurance purposes/legal reasons) judo is a sport, not a martial art where as a lot of other MAa are actually recognised as MAs

And before i get gunned down (as if), I have not just answered my own question because i was asking for OPINIONS. :woo:

4. blackbelt_judoj

The definition of a sport is where two or more parties compete, each with a fair chance of winning.