Sparring - Important for Self Defense

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by rudai123, Sep 21, 2011.

1. rudai123

rudai123 New Member

I currently am taking Seido Karate. I enjoy the emphasis on fundamentals (how to make a fist, throw a punch etc). Two things I don't particularly like:

1. No sparring until you are a Green Belt (White, Blue, Yellow, Green, Brown, then Black). I did the math, that is at least 1.5 years into it (I'm testing for my blue in November).

As a collegiate wrestler, sparring was fundamental to the real application of what you learned.

2. Katas are very central to training. Of course being an impatient student, I would much rather be sparring.

Am I way off base here?

2. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

nope, that's WAY too late to start sparring, IMO

it could still be good, but i personally don't like it.

3. Kurtka Jerker

Kurtka Jerker Valued Member

No single technique can be understood even to competence, much less any real depth, without actually using often it in regular unscripted resistant training.
    If you want to wait a year and a half before you begin to really get anything, and then only in a very cloistered environment, only against people who have been indoctrinated into a particular way of movement, then go for it. If you want to be able to fight in any way, you need to go somewhere that trains fighters, and those places don't shy away from sparring.

4. Kurtka Jerker

Kurtka Jerker Valued Member

Also, you ought to look into something dealing with weapons, deescalation, avoidance and legal issues if you want something tailored to self defense. Fighting's actually one of the less effective tools for protecting yourself. Sometimes it's what you've got, but generally if you find yourself in a position where it's neccessary, short of a few specific scenarios, you've missed something more fundamental leading up to that point.

5. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo