Southpaw's Training Log

Discussion in 'Training Logs' started by Southpaw535, Oct 2, 2017.

1. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

Couldn't think of a witty title. Things are up in the air with gym work at the moment. I've never done it before and I'm slammed between starting work and trying to find my feet with a dissertation so I haven't had time to properly research and plan anything. But still trying to go three days a week, so figured hey lets do a log.

Starting weight: ~70kg

Diet: Poor. At the moment consists of a cereal bar for breakfast, lunch ranges from cereal bars to sausage rolls to croissants depends how hungry I get and where I am and how student money is doing. Dinner is normally pasta and turkey mince or meatballs since its quick, easy, and cheap.

Goals: Long term I want to shift the chub I've gained since I quit martial arts training and gain some functional strength to go back. Short term, I have no idea. That'll be easier to work out once I've got a proper routine in place that I can measure.

Mushroom and axelb like this.
  2. Southpaw535

Monday 2/10/27

First day trying to do a half decent session. Stayed on the machines for now because I'm shy being in a gym and the barbell area is scary. Every exercise was with 30 seconds between reps. Not sure how thing are meant to feel doing weights, but I didn't finish sweaty and only a couple exercises did I feel like I couldn't do more, but I read something the other day that said you should feel like you can do another set and not train to failure so I played it safe. Some exercises I did random things at the end with other weights to test how much energy I had left and try to work out if I could use more weight. Help interpreting those would be great.

Bicycle machine: 15 minutes/4.1 miles. Shocking yes, but my legs hurt. Can't use treadmills as flairs something in my ankle up incredibly fiercely.