Some Constructive Feedback Please?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Jujy, Aug 14, 2006.

1. Jujy

Jujy New Member

Hey guys...I've been struggling to get a good routine going that would compliment my BJJ for the longest time. Before I started training BJJ a year and a half ago, I was pretty strong for my size; however, I lost a great deal of strength since then because I wasn't really working out at the gym with the intensity and focus that I used to (over training??) Anyways, I was thinking of trying out something new. Any comments on the routine below? I'm really looking forward to your feedback...Thanks!!

Day 1

Squats (all the way down)
    Leg Extensions
    Incline Bench Press (with dumbells)
    Chest Flyes
    Shoulder Press (with dumbells)
    Tricep Push Down
    Crunches

Day 2
    Deadlifts
    Bent Over Rows
    Chin Ups
    EZ Barbell Curls
    Leg Curls
    Calf Raises
    Crunches

Day 1 is on Sunday, Day 2 on Tuesday, Day 1 again on Thursday, Day 2 again on Sunday, etc.

The basic routine for each exercise is: warm up with 60% of working weight - 5X, then 80% of working weight - 8X, then 110% of working weight - 1X...then: as many reps as possible with the working weight (aiming for 6-8) until reaching muscular failure. And that's it...I move on to the next exercise. Also, please note that I rest 2 minutes between every set.

On Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays I do sprints in the morning: run 100 metres, then walk 100 metres - 10 times.

Then, in the evening, I train BJJ for about 3 hours.

I'm eating like an animal and getting as much sleep as possible (wish I could have more though!)

So that's it guys...any feedback on this one? Thanks again...train hard!!! :woo:

2. cxw

cxw Valued Member

What do you mean by 110% of working weight? Normally percentages are based on 1 rep max, i.e a max effort is 100%.

Don't go muscular to failure, it normally takes more than it gives.