So nervous, and excited.

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by tonyv107, Jan 3, 2012.

1. tonyv107

tonyv107 Valued Member

When I was a child I had always wanted to be a cop. I remember coming home with an assignment to draw a picture of ourselves in our 30's with a story. Mine was drawing of me wearing the Police uniform with a GSD at my side and a huge revolver =D.

As I got older my interests shifted into other things. I went to college with plans to major in Aerospace Engineering, but after one year i realized school wasn't for me. I got into the trades and am working as a union carpenter. Its a good career with plenty of growth opportunity. My company wants me to become a certified QSP, which for short means I would be a water/erosion control inspector. With those cert's I'm guranteed a job and most likely a company vehicle to get from job to job. I am content with this job, and its one of the best paying jobs not requiring a degree, so I've been doing it for almost 5 years now.

Last september I was talking to one of my MT buddies. Turns out he is a Sheriff Deputy, and he told me that SF PD was taking applications. I figured " What the hell, worth a shot." I applied, took the exam and kicked its ass. A few days ago a received a letter saying I was randomly chosen for an oral interview and physical ability test. I am not worried about the physical since its something like running a mile in less then 13 minutes and 30 pushups in one minute( im guessing ).