Similarities & differences of Bukti Negara & Serak?

Discussion in 'Silat' started by masterchimp, Aug 18, 2007.

1. masterchimp

masterchimp New Member

With all arguments aside.I have studied Bukti Negara for a short time and know it is effective and therefore know Serak must also be effective seeing as Bukti came from Serak.And I have seen on here and other sites posts about how there are major differences between the two of them and was hoping someone with experence in both arts could give a quick run down of what those differences are.Thanks alot to all those who respond and also to those who don't turn this tread into an internet "My dad can beat up your dad"match as I've seen so much of.

2. Steve Perry

Steve Perry Valued Member

Bukti/Sera

You've opened a can of worms here, so expect a lot of dirty, wiggly stuff to pop up ...

I studied Bukti Negara when I started in silat, but only a year and a half or so, and that was eleven or twelve years back. I made it about three-quarters of the way through what was then the system.

At the time, we were told that one could learn the system in two to three years.

After my teacher and his had a falling out, my teacher stopped teaching Bukti and moved on to teaching Sera to his classes.

Bukti has reportedly evolved since and isn't the same. It was, at the time, a daughter art developed so that Pendekar Paul de Thouars could teach Americans -- he limited his Sera teaching, a closed-door art shown only to Indonesians or Dutch-Indonesians, or those who could demonstrate the proper adat and hormat. No women, and few non-Indo Americans.

My teacher, Guru Stevan Plinck, born in Holland of Dutch-Indo parents, was already a senior Sera student, and helped develop Bukti, whereupon he became one its first and senior-most teachers.

The old joke was that Bukti was designed for old people, cripples, and Americans ...