Should martial arts always keep changing or be kept in traditional ways?

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Sarute Uchizaki, Jul 17, 2019.

1. Sarute Uchizaki

Sarute Uchizaki Valued Member

I'm a martial artist who was always fascinated by traditional practices until recently I realised that many martial arts have evolved or new styles have been derived. Is the value of tradition being overlooked and will vanish soon?

Should all martial arts techniques and practitioners adapt to changing times? Should techniques have to be changed or eliminated in each decade?

Or should martial arts practitioners keep traditional values?

2. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

IMHO a traditional value has always been to evolve, adapt, improve , adopt, discard, create, etc etc.
    Without that process most arts wouldn't even exist in fact. There'd be no Judo, Aikido, karate styles, BJJ, JKD, etc etc.
    Keeping something preserved and unchanging is not the traditional way (aside from some ideas about koryu arts in japan or family styles of kung fu. That's a quasi-traditional view people have tried to enforce in trying to keep hold or possession of some mythical perfect super-art.

IronMaiden1991 and Monkey_Magic like this.
  3. David Harrison

David Harrison MAPper without portfolio

Even when people try their hardest to keep something static, they can't. It's impossible.

The context in which a martial art finds itself will always shape it, and time will always play the telephone game with traditions (maybe video will change that in the future).

4. Sarute Uchizaki

Sarute Uchizaki Valued Member

So...martial arts teachers have to modify their teachings. Right?

5. Smitfire

Smitfire Cactus Schlong

They can do. Or not. Up to them.
    What I'm saying is that "keeping things the same" is no more a "traditional value" than "change some things". Both have their place and both have shaped martial arts over the years.

6. Dead_pool