Should I do boxing?

Discussion in 'Boxing' started by Bruce_Lee93, Jun 15, 2010.

1. Bruce_Lee93

Bruce_Lee93 Martial Movie Addict

Hey everyone.
    I've been training in Kyokushin Karate for almost 3 years now, and I recently started Jiujutusu for my grappling technique. Would it be a good idea to start training in boxing for my striking/personal fitness???

PS- I don't want a comparison of the arts, just whether with my training background it's a good idea to start training in boxing. In other words, NO TROLLING ON THIS THREAD <Obscenity removed>

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2010
  2. Moi

Moi Warriors live forever x

Yes

3. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

Do you want to?

Do you have the time and dedication to do it?

Can you afford to do so?

Are you willing to make sacrifices to train in it?

If so, go for it.

4. Fish Of Doom

Fish Of Doom Will : Mind : Motion Supporter

do you WANT to do boxing?

edit: so yeah, what kuma said :p

5. CosmicFish

CosmicFish Aleprechaunist

BL93, please watch the language. MAP has a family friendly policy and that kind of language is unacceptable.

6. tkd GU

tkd GU Valued Member

Boxing is a beautiful sport, but I wouldn't recommend anyone who values their mental capacity to take it up. Repeated blows to the head = diminished brain power. That's too big of a sacrifice for me. Does Muhammed Ali look happy that he boxed all his life? Or that his own daughter is into it? You'll proably be better suited for mma after some training in boxing, but is some small-time glory in the cage worth the physical/mental damage to yourself?

7. Kuma

Kuma Lurking about

[​IMG]

Once their mental capacities are low enough, they can always take Tae Kwon Do.

8. tkd GU

tkd GU Valued Member

Hey at least my dojang doesn't teach you to be a big meanie!

9. seiken steve

seiken steve golden member

tKd GU
    i'd leave it there....

this is a martial arts forum, i'd hope most on here have thrown and taken a punch in their time.