Shin toughening

Discussion in 'Kickboxing' started by khafra, Jul 2, 2002.

1. khafra

khafra New Member

I read recently about Muay Thai practitioners rolling bamboo on their shins to toughen them, and deaden the nerves. Then I couldn't find where I read it, or anything further on that anywhere. Is that a common practice? What are the specifics? I could use tougher shins, if nothing else for walking across my living room in the dark.

2. Freeform

Freeform Fully operational War-Pig Supporter

I knew some guys who used rolling pins to the same effect, not a sore initially and it takes longer to get there, but a bit more comfortable!

Thanx

3. khafra

khafra New Member

That's exactly what I tried last night. I'm glad to hear that it works. I tried about five minutes each shin with moderate pressure and speed. If that's wildly different than the effective dose could you let me know?

4. stump

stump Supersub

hi i'm no expert in this area (or any other!) so feel free to contradict this is anyone knows better.

I was advised against doing this because while it deadens the nerves in the shins it does not build up bone density in the shins which kicking the bag does do.

Just a little something to add to the mix. Does anyone else know if this is true or not?

5. Andy Murray

Andy Murray Sadly passed away. Rest In Peace.

Hi Colin,

I understand what you are saying, but the Thai guys do bagwork too (In some cases as soon as they are old enough to walk).

What I am concerned about is the stories that Shin Trauma can lead to Bone Cancer.

Anybody know more on that?

Andy

6. khafra

khafra New Member

Yikes. I know, in general, any type of cellular trauma has a possibility of causing cancer, but I've never heard any statistics about body toughening in particular. Never thought about that. Any idea if a dit da jow alleviates that?

7. YODA

YODA The Woofing Admin Supporter