Sayoc Kali

Discussion in 'Filipino Martial Arts' started by rabid_wombat, Feb 11, 2015.

1. rabid_wombat

rabid_wombat Valued Member

I have an opportunity to attend a Sayoc Kali seminar, absolute beginner level. I'm largely unfamiliar with with Filipino Martial Arts beyond having seen some performed, so I have no system bias; but admittedly also no experience to know whether this is "good" Kali or not. So, I'm looking for any opinions, if any are available on this system/tradition/lineage. Anyone have experience with it?

2. Bozza Bostik

Bozza Bostik Antichrist on Button Moon

Is it good kali or bad kali? The only person who can decide that is you!

They like knives a lot. It's a respected system.

Go, train, tell us what you think!

3. rabid_wombat

Yeah, the focus on knives seemed a little odd to me as what little FMA I've seen involved stick and knife or just sticks. Glad to know that it is a respected system, I'm looking more forward to it now. The seminar is next month, but will definitely post a follow-up after attending.

4. Bozza Bostik

Different systems have a different take on the weapons. In many systems the stick is just a blade, but blunt.....and less stabby....and therefore less killey. It's a cheap training weapon basically.

I am not that up on FMA history, but I think the stick was used to replace blunt blades to train with and then they became a specific weapon themselves when people realised they had their own strengths, weaknesses, advantages and disadvantages.

I think there is other systems out there that are pretty much blade only. Or heavily blade orientated.

So, nothing unusual about systems prefering blades to sticks in FMA.

I'd go for it. I'd like to look at it myself, I've heard good things about the style.

Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  5. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Ret. Supporter