Sai training and ideas

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by Av1anation, Nov 7, 2013.

1. Av1anation

Av1anation New Member

The sai is a fantastic weapon that can be used for everything to throws to BEING thrown, so it would make sense to learn how to use them correctly and effectively. I've been using the sai for about 5 years but only recently I've really got down to business in my training with it, I've heard of doing 'sai pushups' (which hurt like crap.) And doing 'sai twirls' well, plus all the obvious stuff like flicking them in and out, throwing them and practicing throws with them. However, I'd like to find out more that I can do with them! (Geez what a sai nerd) does anyone know some exercises, control exercises or just experimental 'does this work?'s? I'll try as many as I can and post feedback. (The Bo staff WILL be mentioned st one point or another I realize lol)

2. Dean Winchester

Dean Winchester Valued Member

What does your teacher suggest?

The Bo might be mentioned but the Bo staff will only be met with derision.

3. Ero-Sennin

Ero-Sennin Well-Known Member Supporter

Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff
    Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff Bo Staff

For OP, Bo = Staff. So saying "Bo Staff" is really saying "Staff Staff." Which is why it will be met with derision. I encourage continued usage of saying "Bo Staff" to annoy the crap out of people. :D

I told you my experience with Sai in your into thread, so I don't have a ton to offer. However, it would probably be wise to practice using it defensively (it is a defensive weapon). A good way of doing this is flipping it so longer prong is across your forearm and practicing blocking with it like it's a tonfa if you ever do something like Bo vs. Sai practice. It's a whole different game flipping it to that positioning and then being able to use it to block with confidence.

4. Dean Winchester