Roommate

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by warriorofanart, Jul 19, 2012.

1. warriorofanart

warriorofanart Valued Member

I am starting my university courses in a few months. I chose to live on campus because of the distance I would have to drive otherwise. Since I am a transfer student, I was offered transfer apartments so I am not bunking with freshmen. They're quite nice, with beach view and all, so I am excited.

It'll be my first time sharing an apartment with complete strangers. I have lived most of my life with my immediate family, so I have never had that experience.

So, how was your first experience having roommates? Any stories to share?

2. Ero-Sennin

Ero-Sennin Well-Known Member Supporter

Have fun, lol. It should be a fun experience.

It is always in the best interest of both parties living with each other to sit down at the start and set some standards and expectations. Nothing crazy or anything, but what you guys expect out of each other. Also setting out a list of chores that each person is responsible for. I've lived with A LOT of different people and that has always been a super beneficial thing, especially if the roommate was big on using the computer or watching TV late at night. If you're that guy . . . stop it : P. If your roommate ends up being that guy, set an established time to cut that stuff (which was my case because it was 3 people living in one room most of the time) off. It's also a good idea to invest in headphones!

I always assume the person I'm rooming with is the complete opposite of me in everything, so I prepare for that. Hopefully you get a roommate that you can chill out with, listen to the same music, have the same type of schedule and do the same sort of stuff together. Best of luck!

3. Mangosteen

Mangosteen Hold strong not

advice about flatmates:

KEEP YOUR CHOCOLATE SPREAD AND PEANUT BUTTER IN YOUR ROOM!