Returning to Regular Practice After an Injury,....

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by wonk, Mar 1, 2006.

1. wonk

wonk Valued Member

Hi.

• When I was young, and lived in NYC I studied Tae Kwon Do, switching to Tang Soo Do when I went to college in PA (Hard to believe, but I couldn't find a single decent taekwon-do school in the town where I went to college: fortunately, there were some really solid tang soo do teachers there at the time).

Returning to NY upon graduation, I practiced aikido through my twenties and early thirties. I also began practicing yang style tai chi chuan at this time.

I moved to Los Angeles in my late thirties, where an injury sidelined me for an extended period. (Yes, I got injured on the mat.) So there was an extended period where any kind of practice was out of the question.

About a month ago, a friend and I started taking classes in chen style tajiquan,...

.... and I'm enjoying it a great deal. Alternating fast and slow movements, I find the chen style silk reeling drills and forms teach a whip-like, spiraling quality which lends it has a very different feel from the yang forms, which felt kind of 'stately' by comparison. Previous experience has made it a bit easier to 'pick up' the gross mechanics of the chen style beginner forms which is a pleasent surprise as previous "switches" (say from tang soo do to aikido) required a long period of shaking off old habits before I could "get into the groove of things" at the new school. (Watching my friend stuggle with some aspects of the movement, I sometimes think those interested in the chen style might be better served if they studied the yang style for a while before taking up the chen style.) And of course, it's good to exercise regularly again, and learn something new. (I must admit, there are times I miss aikido, but my back can't take the constant rolls and falls anymore.)