Question about timing of ranks...

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by Kenpo_Iz_Active, Mar 29, 2008.

1. Kenpo_Iz_Active

Kenpo_Iz_Active Greek Warrior-not 300

...well I got promoted to a first degree brown (last one before black), and i've been training for 2 1/2 years now. by the time I get black, It'll be 3 years. is that a decent amount of time to earn one, or is it too early?

2. davefly76

davefly76 Valued Member

depends on the style, what other martial art experience you have and how often you train.

also, don't think about black belt being the end of your training. in most respects it is just the beginning.

3. Kenpo_Iz_Active

Kenpo_Iz_Active Greek Warrior-not 300

You know, I somehow didn't think about it like that. Guess I still have much to learn then, huh?

4. Tai Sabaki

Tai Sabaki Valued Member

Hours not years

Someone could have simply trained twice a week for an hour and a half for 10years, some one else could have done the above plus an hour or two every single day by himself for 5 years. Who's put the most into his art, it does take time for things to sink in but intensity of training is important. Concerntrate on the hours you put in and not the years!

5. Yohan

Yohan In the Spirit of Yohan Supporter

Stop concentrating on time put in and start concentrating on the quality of your training time. If you are training BS for 10 hours a day for 10 years all you've done is waste your time. If you train with quality for an hour a day for a year you'll be better than the guy who trained for 10 with nothing but BS in his program.

6. carlos

carlos MAP Hoo Flung Dung Expert Supporter

IMO, once you get to BB in an art, you're not an expert, you're a serious beginner.

You have some of the basic techniques and have performed them to an adequate standard, but to progress, those basics need to be excellent and you'll be learning new techniques.

7. SirVill

SirVill Valued Member

Depends on your art.