que sera serak

Discussion in 'Silat' started by Rogin, Apr 30, 2004.

1. Rogin

Rogin New Member

Just curious, how many of you silat players have come across, trained in, etc. silat serak? Just wondering what your opinions are on the effectiveness and style of serak. Personally it looks like it is very practical but will take long road to become effective.

Rogin

2. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

I trained in it for a couple of years and my instructor trained in Bukti Negara (a "child" art of Serak) for several years and in Serak for a couple of years. Much of the Silat I do is rooted, one way or another, in Serak. I think it's very practical.

But, in my experience, you're right. Long road to become effective with it. I had been training with my instructor for 3 years and doing Silat (not specifically Serak but, like I said, very Serak influenced) nearly every day of that 3 years before I felt like I might actually be able to pull any of it off.

However, I think it's been more than worth it in the long run :)

Mike

3. Rogin

Rogin New Member

How so? I'm curious, when you say it's "rooted" in Serak, do you mean applying techniques from other arts into a Serak framework?

BTW saw the clips on your site, pretty cool. It helped my sapu sink in conceptually for me.

Rogin

4. pesilat

pesilat Active Member

Cool :) Glad I could be of help.

I mean that my instructor trained in Bukti Negara with Dan Inosanto and Paul de Thouars for many years, in Serak with Victor de Thouars for several years, in Mande Muda with Dan Inosanto and Herman Suwanda for many years (there's a little Serak influence in Mande Muda, too), and in Kuntao Silat de Thouars with Willem de Thouars (which also has some Serak in it).

I've been training with my instructor for a little over 9 years now, have trained directly with Victor de Thouars (though not as a direct student), at many seminars with Herman Suwanda and Dan Inosanto, and directly with Willem de Thouars (as a direct student).