Program Approved

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by marinevet63031, Feb 15, 2013.

1. marinevet63031

marinevet63031 Hapkido/Koryo Gumdo/TKD

Hi all,
    I have been approved for a program for disabled martial artists. It is a past time that has grown and will begin as a formal program in April. I am adapting Tae Kwon do and joint locks of Yudo for this program.

Just dropping a quick note as to what the neighborhood Disabled Vet Yudo Master is up to. Please, seriously....wish me luck!

2. gapjumper

gapjumper Intentionally left blank

Cool.

But...approved by who? Is it a local law thing?

3. Thomas

Thomas Combat Hapkido/Taekwondo

Congrats - I wish you the best.

I've been working for quite a few years with a man who has TBI - he started ina modified Taekwondo program and we have moved him into a modified Combat Hapkido program. He has done very well. Much of the program is develped by my instructor and myself but we have also looked to inspiration/resources from people like Master Jurgen Schmidt (http://www.defenseability.com/MJS_Bio.htm) and GM Mark Shuey of Canemasters (http://www.canemasters.com/) - they have nice resources and insights as well.

4. Dave76

Dave76 Valued Member

Thats great new Marinevet! Best of fortune to you! My old Aki Jitsu instructor taght a modified version to disabled poeple at a rehab center. He said many of his students there were not only quite good at it, but that it seemed to genuinly help their moral also(most of the people at that home were recently disabled and relearning things).

5. Dan93

Dan93 Valued Member

Congrats and best of luck Sir!

Its a good thing you are doing and providing a service that and will help enpower people.

Osu!

Dan93

6. marinevet63031