Potential Judo newbie/Taking up Judo for self defence?

Discussion in 'Judo' started by Hang_The_DJ, Mar 25, 2010.

1. Hang_The_DJ

Hang_The_DJ Valued Member

Hi everyone, I've been out of MA 'full time' for 3 years now and would like to get back into it. I've been looking at WC, BJJ and Judo classes recently, but I've always had an interest in joint locks and throws, which has led me here. :)

I'm slightly hesitant to try a ground/grappling style due to my lack of experience with both competitions and ground/clinch work, (my background is primarily stand-up kung fu) I'm not a fan of chokes either it has to be said, giving or receiving. lol

But another main grappling newbie 'concern' of mine is that I want to take up Judo (and any style I do for that matter) primarily for self defence, so I wanted to know if I'd be right in doing this?

All of the Judo clubs I've seen so far seem to be very competition-focused, so I wondered if emphasis is also placed on practical self defence in Judo classes?
    Do all the techniques (both the moves and training methods) learnt for sports competitions/randori's translate well into self defence situations?

Thanks in advance for any help in answering my questions. :)

2. koyo

koyo Passed away, but always remembered. RIP.

Self defence depends more on toughness and attitude than individual techniques. Judo training gives you both.

With your knowledge of striking arts..You should be capable of striking to set up your judo technique.

Principles are more important than techniques and judo has excelent unbalancing principles. I would go for it.

My original art was judo and I have NEVER regretted my time training.

Regards koyo

3. Mitch

Mitch Lord Mitch of MAP Admin

Judo rocks, and that's a scientific fact. Don't blame me; NASA have researched it and it's been confirmed by the Royal Institute for Clever People in the UK: Judo rocks.

"Pub fighting in pyjamas" is a nice description.