please help!!! question about flexibility

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by ZeLuis, Aug 12, 2013.

1. ZeLuis

ZeLuis New Member

Hi,

I'm 14 and a i just started training in jeet kune do.
    I want to get high kicks and splits so i read the fantastic thread of van zandt
    and my problem is that in the thread is says that i cannot do isometrics because of my age.
    So my question is if i can develop a flexibility to do a split and perform high kicks with my age if so please tell me how. ​

(please reply i really need to get flexibility)

THANKS

(sorry for my english, english is not my native language)

2. Simon

Simon Administrator Admin Supporter MAP 2017 Koyo Award

Zeluis, welcome to MAP.

My sons train with me (aged 15) and their flexibility is poor.

I've not given them a specific programme as their flexibility will improve through regular training and as they get stronger.

Doing the splits is a personal thing, it's not important and I know many people who can kick high without being able to do the splits.

I was 19 before I could do the splits, so you don't have to worry, just enjoy your training.

3. ZeLuis

ZeLuis New Member

Thanks for the quick reply!

4. Van Zandt

Van Zandt Mr. High Kick

ZeLuis,

First point - SLOW DOWN! Don't be in a rush to develop flexibility (or any other fitness attribute) because your body will simply stick up the middle finger and say "it ain't hap'nin." Fitness developed quickly is unstable.

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, when I talked about getting flexible "quick" - I meant in relation to other forms of stretching. You can do splits in months rather than years if you follow a rational training program.

Second point - to get flexible, do what flexible people do. Gymnasts are (probably) the most flexible athletes. So you should do what gymnasts do, right?

Well... yes and no.