PCL damage from shooting in?

Discussion in 'MMA' started by callsignfuzzy, Dec 27, 2012.

1. callsignfuzzy

callsignfuzzy Is not a number!

http://www.sherdog.com/news/news/Doctor-PCL-Injuries-in-MMA-Often-Due-to-Shooting-In-48025

In an interview with Dr. Jonathan Gelber from FightMedicine.net (I'm so glad to know that that's a thing), he suggested that injuries to the PCL were due to shooting in. While he seems to have some solid reasoning behind it- as far as I can tell anyway, not being a doctor myself- his statements sound like a "best guess" instead of thorough research. My thought is that if it were easy to injure the PCL during a shot, we'd see a lot of it in amateur wrestling. I personally don't have the numbers to know if that happens or not. Anyone with more wrestling experience want to chime in?

Further, the "MMA shot" is generally a little different than your standard wrestling shot. Most of the best TD artists in MMA pike at the hips and run with their feet instead of hitting a knee.

Demo by Josh Koscheck-
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrIuft3czRo"]MMA Fighter Josh Koshcheck: Double Leg Takedown for MMAWeekly.com - MMA Weekly News - YouTube[/ame]

GSP TD highlight (warning for language in the intro)-
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8cgrWPXLeOc"]Georges St. Pierre Takedown Highlight - YouTube[/ame]

Randy Couture highlight-
    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7bM1CH0Msg"]Randy Couture Highlights - YouTube[/ame]

In fact, the only guys I can think of who consistantly band then knee when penetrating are Sherk and Evans.

Thoughts?

2. Late for dinner

Late for dinner Valued Member