Part Of A Great Team

Discussion in 'Disabled Martial Artists' started by BentMonk, Jan 16, 2009.

1. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

2. Southpaw535

Southpaw535 Well-Known Member Moderator Supporter

i'm seriously impressed by the guy with palsy.

3. koyo

koyo Passed away, but always remembered. RIP.

Inspirational. I once ran an archery group for wheelchair users and they were so up beat it taught others humility. Good on you.I once told one of the older ladies I was considering running away with her and she quipped "My brakes are off!!"

sincere best wishes koyo

4. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

Thanks

Thank you. I hope this position enables me to help many people.

5. Brad66

Brad66 Valued Member

Hi, this is a area im most interested in. I am a disabled martial artist anbd have many freinds who are too. My kung fu has helped me so much with my illness and has given me hope and a future. I suffer from schizophrenia and depression. Kung fu means the world to me and its something i can do and makes me feel better. I am currently training on my own and would like to get to know others who are disabled also. Thank you.

6. BentMonk

BentMonk Valued Member

Initiative

Greetings Brad. It's good that you're taking the initiative with your training. I'm also glad to hear that kung fu has helped you and your friends. What type of training do you do? Do you have previous martial art instruction? Since you're teaching yourself, where does your material come from? While I know enthusiasm and effort can bring good things, I am concerned that you do not have an experienced instructor. There is a risk of injury and improper training without someone to guide you. Did you choose to train independently, or can you not find an instructor? I'll be glad to offer any help I can. :hat:

7. Brad66

Brad66 Valued Member