Olympics - Stop and Search by security personnel

Discussion in 'Off Topic Area' started by Chimpcheng, Jul 23, 2012.

1. Chimpcheng

Chimpcheng Yup... Giant cow head... Supporter

Hey all. My Googling is failing me badly, it's like I've never used a search engine before, but, bear with me...

You all know it's the Olympics this year and with that some sports, e.g., the football is being outsourced to other cities such as Newcastle where I live. Now, certain roads will be blocked off during certain times, which was always expected, however, what I didn't expect was car stop and search checkpoints.

Not more than 20 mins ago, I drove up one of the roads due to be closed for the match/es tomorrow, as I always do on my way home from work. What was new was a car stop and search checkpoint. A ragtag team of security people in fluorescent jackets had pulled over a truck and was checking the boot, etc. I just drove on past, suggesting it was a random spot check.

The radio, before I got to this road, was saying how G4S, the beleaguered company contracted to do the security for the Olympics, won't be in charge of the security in this city.

Anyway, my point is, do random doormen (I saw some i know "guarding" one of the already blocked roads) have the right to stop and search vehicles? Yes I know they are employed indirectly by the government (I think), but can they just stop a car and pour over your gym bag, shopping, collection of, ahem, adult audio visual entertainment that may be in your boot? I mean, they aren't the police right?

2. Chimpcheng

Ok, just asked a security friend of mine. He has no idea if they are allowed to stop and search... So much for his training courses... :D

3. Bigmikey

Bigmikey Internet Pacifist.