Nunchaku kata

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by chrispy, Mar 2, 2006.

1. chrispy

chrispy The Hunter

So I'm here bored at my second job, started looking for sai kata-eventually got on wikipedia, ended up looking at ninja turtles and then Mikey and then a page with katas and saw the nunchaku kata here...

http://proxy.ee.kent.ac.uk/~cpb2//Dentokan/Kobudo/

the bottom one obviously.

Now I have never used nunchaku before other than crappy home made ones that would break almost instantly when I was a kid imitating michelangelo.

But now that I have preformed various kata and used weapons (still no nunchaku) it seems to me that compared to the usual effective and direct-to-the-pointness of most kata, this seems to have a LOT of waving the nunchaku around pointlessly, especially near the end. Maybe someone who uses them can tell me if there is actually a point to that.

And would it not make much more sence to use 1 nunchaku as opposed to a pair, I would think it would be much better to use for blocking and twisting/gripping incoming weapons/arms/legs etc... with only 1 nunchaku?

Full me in folks :)

2. Dave Humm

Dave Humm Serving Queen and Country

Chris, forgive any over tones of sarcasm however..

Did you even bother to read this : post on the subject of Nunchaku

.. And presumably you haven't searched this forum for the 167 results relating to this weapon, it's use, origin etc etc etc. :rolleyes:

If you're so board, perhaps you have the time to do the donkey work yourself :)

Regards

3. chrispy

chrispy The Hunter

Nope, didn't even see it, my bad.

You are correct I did not search, no exact reason in particular - a fresh answer is usually a better one though, and I'm not asking questions like "where do nunchucks come from?" "what are they made of" "what is their history" (questions that are perfectly answered by your first linked post)- I was asking a couple of questions directly related to the video link I posted.