[No Mans Land] Self Learning

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by emdiesse, Sep 25, 2008.

1. emdiesse

emdiesse Valued Member

[edit]
    Everyone keeps pointing out martial arts is not a solo exercise. I posted a little more about this in my next post.

I should have added that a solo thing can be practiced alone but if the thing you want to learn itself requires more than one person then you need that. Another analogy, you can't learn football by yourself, you can learn the skills but not the tactics. I guess I should have said that you can't learn a martial art alone as it's not a solo event.
    [/edit]

Right, I would like to address the topic of self learning. I understand this seems to be almost a taboo in the martial art world. I hear of many posts explaining how it's just not the way to learn a martial art or it simply cannot be done.

However I feel differently. I fail to see how anything cannot be self taught. Before I go any further, let me just explain I am not here to start a war (ha!) however I have put a quick warning in the title (perhaps a no mans land forum would be good for all controversial topics).

Anyway, as an analogy I will use learning the guitar. You can self teach yourself the guitar, you can self teach yourself the guitar to a high standard... Jimi Hendrix.

Now martial arts, I think you can self teach. Sure you may learn the techniques wrong and get into a few bad habits but if they work then surely you could view them as variations (perhaps not perfect, but they can be corrected. Maybe not always easily but still). I totally understand learning with an instructor will speed up the process and help you get the finer details right, plus grading, being able to train with a wide variety of people, etc etc, etc.