New to TKD, advice needed chambering kicks

Discussion in 'Tae Kwon Do' started by mjl, Feb 28, 2014.

1. mjl

mjl ITF Taekwon-Do (1st Dan)

Hi guys,

I'm 6 weeks into learning TaeKwon-do (ITF) so very new to everything. Last night I had a very frustrating session that inspires me to do something about my physical state - I don't quite know what to do but I found this forum and hope people here might be helpful.

A bit about me, I'm 42, 6' tall, light build, and since my early teenage years have spent much of my day in front of a computer (and my job now also demands this). Unfortunately this line of work brings all sorts of problems such as posture issues, weakens core muscles and doesn't exactly require much movement or flexibility. I have played football weekly though so have a reasonable level of cardio fitness.

So onto the TKD. Yesterday we focused on kicking techniques, and well, as a complete beginner I make many faults but what isn't helping is that to take an example of a turning kick I don't seem to chamber either leg to the side very well, and when I do chamber, I can't find the movement to pivot and extend the leg. It's like all my strength is focused on pushing the leg out to the side (which I find very awkward - my leg doesn't really want to move round to the side that much) that I find it almost impossible to execute the next part of the move. As a result I find myself off balance and generally missing the target. Target was being held mid-section; forget high section there's almost no chance I can get my leg high right now.

I'm not going to use age as an excuse but I strongly suspect that trying to use years of underused and tightened core/hip/other muscle groups are the problem. I'd really like some advice please on daily routines I should be doing that will specifically target those areas.

Thanks, Mike.

2. Rhythmkiller

Rhythmkiller Animo Non Astutia

Hi Mate,