My Experience with "Iron Fist", Iron Training

Discussion in 'General Martial Arts Discussion' started by hellsender, Sep 28, 2006.

1. hellsender

hellsender New Member

I am a security researcher by trade... so I did a lot of research in these things over several years. And, I have seen a lot of misinformation out there about iron conditioning... so I wanted to make a post people could find who were curious about these methods.

I am not confessing to be such a great martial artist. Not at all. I have studied under various arts and have a respect for a wide variety of them. But, iron training, conditioning of this type is often very poorly documented, so I am writing this post for you guys who have wondered about it.

First of all, I patterned this work off of key martial artists like 'Iron Fist' Pan Qing-Fu and 'Godhand' Matsuyama Oyama. I noticed that, historically, this kind of conditioning has been centric to almost all of the striking arts (as opposed to purely grappling and many internal arts). From Korean old style Tae Kwon Do to Muay Thai to various forms of Chinese Shaolin arts... to Wing Chun... this kind of conditioning has been used.

While Bruce Lee is noted as saying in a movie 'boards don't hit back', books on him show that he would use this kind of conditioning even after he dropped Wing Chun which uses hard wooden training dummies.

I have a theory why this kind of conditioning is often left out in many modern schools: one is that contact point based competitions have currently removed the need for increasing one's actual striking force. Another is that this kind of conditioning is very difficult to do. It hurts. If you do not do it carefully you can really get into trouble.